Thursday, November 18, 2010

Watch The MBA Show Episode 11 - If you want to be an entrepreneur ... be Indian





(1) Headlines: “Someone is #1”
Bloomberg Business Week releases their list of the Top U.S. Business Schools. The ranking is based one 3 stats.

    • 5. Standford
    • 4. Kelloggg
    • 3. Wharton
    • 2. Harvard
    • 1. Chicago Booth


Tom - Why is this #1?
Miro - Because it’s #1. Combo of rankings of graduates, recruiters, and the publications of the faculty?
Why do you care about this list

Tom - Pedigree

Miro - Education?

Tom - This list has nothing to do with education.  People at the end of the day really care what other people think of the value of their degree.  It’s a component of self-worth.

Miro - So, part of the reason you’re going to a b7 business school is that it makes you feel better about yourself?
Shouldn’t you be embarrassed to admit that?
I’m not because I know that secretly, everyone else feels this way too.
Riffing on b-school:  Least challenging curriculum at MIT.  But most expensive!!!



http://www.businessweek.com/bschools/special_reports/20101111best_business_schools.htm




(2) Howard Says (With the ACTUAL Howard)
Welcome one of our idols. A legend in the East Coast investment Community .... Howard Anderson … Howard founded Yankee Group and co-founded Battery Ventures. Battery was an early investor in A123 systems, the largest IPO in the U.S. last year.

Put the photo paper over his face and then throw it away.
Howard Strategies:
-Tell us your favorite lie

Bobble head joke

Like the cut away scenes with the mentor from Jerry Maguire.  The guy with the catch pearls of wisdom: “If this is empty.  This doesn’t matter.”

You went to business school when capitalism was invented. Maanagment education must be light years better since then?

Alot of people in the audience want to be VC’s. What’s it like Howard, is it worth it?

Howard, you are independently wealthy.  Why do you teach?

One of the things you’re famous for is spotting good entrepreneurs.  What are the qualities of a good entrepreneur, and who shouldn’t be be an entrepreneur?




(3) Jargon: FOMO

Fear of Missing Out




(4) Contest Announcements:
  • MIT $100K Executive Summary Competition - at least one student from a New England School - Dec 2 - www.mit100k.org


(5) Business School Tip of the week:

Ask for a refund



(6) What's on your Radar
Miro: Wedding
Tom: Preview Screening of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part I
Howard: Going to Vermont

26 comments:

  1. Oh Jokers! You got Howard involved pretty good there toward the end of the show.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I watched this video. Entrepreneur is a person who set up a business, taking on financial risks in the hope of benefit.How to write an assignment

    ReplyDelete
  3. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Outlet http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete
  4. To activate the PIN code to the Mobile Token, please log into Mobile Bank and select settings in the side menu - Manage PIN code to Mobile Token. download games You can now download or upload documents in PDF format.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Slide on the color area in the bottom toolbar to adjust the color when light on. link for you Replace your other remotes and use MobiMote to access your media.

    ReplyDelete
  6. It's hard on a limited budget to promote my book because I can't afford to buy many at one time. downlodable tv shows Delay: Will pause the execution of the list for a time.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Instead, it prompts your child with the correct stroke orders in sequence, reinforcing the stroke motion both before and after they make it. download warez HARD: Includes 25 of the most difficult common Chinese characters.

    ReplyDelete
  8. With these photos, you can overlook what you have done at a glance. How to get it The app will track your time just the same even if you completely power off your device.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Your selected actions are again added to your action list, where you can tick them off when done. verypdf pdf2word v30 "It is cocaine," he said,"a seven-per-cent, solution.

    ReplyDelete