Thursday, November 11, 2010

Watch The MBA Show Episode 10 - Get your MBA on Facebook



(1) Headlines: “Get Your MBA on Facebook”
-This story is from Katherine Molina from MIT Sloan
-London School of Business and Finance is offering classes for free entirely on Facebook. You can watch lectures, participate in discussions and even take exams online.

Miro: So, my MBA is worthless now?

Tom: I disagree, the value of your MBA is transitioning from information based to coaching based.

Miro: So I’ll be coached by a huge ex-football player from nebraska?

Tom: @11: “You call this a P&L?!?!  I wipe my ass with P&L’s better than this.”

Miro: Stunned shock and awe.

Tom: Actually, something inbetween.  Coach not INSANE, but help you get better at making really tough management decisions, such as firing someone.

Miro: Do what do I, do now?

Tom: Take advantage of simulations, coaching, & experience based classes.  Take less lecture.

Miro: eaiser to get info

Tom: Huge Transition in B-schools.  Information is becoming comoditized.  101 type info moving out of classroom.  Simulation, personal improvement, & coaching moving in.

LINK:
there's an article about it here: http://bit.ly/cQFiRg

(2) Career Path You should know about: Search Fund

A search fund is: A recent MBA assembles an investor group who puts up $200-500K to support you while you find a company to purchase. When you find that company, those same investors put up the money to purchase the company - usually $2-10M

Tom: Good god, this is too good to be true.  This is like funded job search.  Where you get to fly around to trade shows and have drinks with people for 2 years.  What’s the catch?

Miro: Different kind entrepreneur. Not your idea. Not building Microsoft. Looking for a small business through throwingoff good cash, in a growing market.

Tom: So this is only possible for you if you have tons of brand credibility fairy dust.

Miro: The netowrk

CES at Stanford has created a How-To guide for search funds.  You can find it here: http://www.gsb.stanford.edu/ces/resources/search_funds.html

(3) Jargon: Black Monday

Tom: Isn’t that the biggest online sale day of the year?

Miro: Actually I’m talking about the B-school “Black Monday”, Monday after thanksgiving everyone broken up with their significant other from before business school


(4) Contest Announcements:


(5) Business School Tip of the week:
Find the classes that let you practice those skills you are learning. Take advantage of the chance to screw it up now.

Other: Does this contradict picking classes based on prof?

Other: They are highly correlated because good professors know this and build experiential learning into the curriculum.

(6) What's on your Radar
Miro: Sales Competition
Tom: I am working all weekend teaching the GMAT.

29 comments:

  1. When filling out an mit mba application, it is important to be thorough. Most application require a filing cabinet of different documents including but not limited to a resume, a personal essay, a cover letter, letter of recommendations, transcripts, test scores, and an application fee.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Wow fantastic one. Really enjoyed a lot. It is very informative and interesting. It was a nice experience for me. Thanks for sharing this useful information.

    Term Paper Writing Services Reviews

    ReplyDelete
  3. Quester is a Pakistan-based questioning answering website where people can ask questions and we try our best to provide them with the best answers. Anyone can ask any legit question in English or Roman Urdu and we provide answers in the same language format. www.quester.pk

    ReplyDelete
  4. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Outlet http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete